Östersund, Sverige

Part of the garden

Part of the garden

Garden with trampoline

Garden with trampoline

Edith and Alve in the garden eating a typical swedish desert, strawberries with cream.

Edith and Alve in the garden eating a typical swedish desert, strawberries with cream.





Part of the garden Garden with trampoline Edith and Alve in the garden eating a typical swedish desert, strawberries with cream. winter Bedroom

Medlem sedan


Inte tillgänglig för byten

Denna medlem har inte angett några bytes datum

House in Östersund, Sweden


We have a villa on the smallest street in the city of Östersund, the county of Jämtland, in the north of Sweden, close to the mountains with the best ski- and hiking resorts in northern Europe. 

Our home is from 1898 and has been renovated several times. It is about 150 m2 in two floors. On the ground floor, there is a kitchen, a bathroom, living room and a dining room. On the 1st floor we have three bedrooms, bathroom, sauna and a small office.  We have toys for the children, several bikes of different sizes, tv's, computers and wifi. The city centre is just 1 km from our home and it is possible to go by bike everywhere around the city. The garden (1000 m2) is big enough for both football and trampoline.

The big lake (Storsjön) is just 10 minutes to walk for a refreshing bath, to be continued with a sauna at home, for fishing or canoeing (you could rent kayaks by the lake). The forest and nature is always close in Östersund. You also have to visit Jamtli, an open air museum with actors, to experience the historical Jämtland and Sweden. Norway, especially Trondheim is wonderful for a short weekendtrip from Östersund.

For the summer of 2015 we are open for suggestions in Europe, especially from Germany, Austria, France and Switzerland. Especially big cities are interesting.

Notre maison a été bâti en 1898 et a été renouvée plusieurs fois pendants des années. Au rez-de-chaussée il y a la cuisine, le living, salle à manger et une salle de bain. Au premier étage il y a trois chambres, une salle de bain avec sauna et un petit bureau. Le jardin, 1000 mètres carrés, a du soleil pendant toute la journée. Nous avons beaucoup de jouets pour les enfants et aussi des bicyclettes pour toute la famille. Le centre ville se trouve environ 1 km de notre maison. Il est possible d'aller avec la bicyclette partout en ville.

Läs mer


  • 2 Vuxna
  • 3 Barn
  • 4 Antal byten vi genomfört


  • journalist
  • civil servant

Vårt hem/ objekt

  • Medlemstyp: Hus/ Villa
  • Våning: 2
  • Omgivningar: Småstad
  • Sovrum: 3
  • Badrum/ dusch: 2
  • Antal bäddar: 6

I vårt hus

  • Husdjur - Tillåtna
  • Små barn - Tillåtna

Type av byte

  • Bed & Breakfast
  • Lång tids utbyte
  • Byte som inte sker samtidigt
  • Bostadsutbyte
  • Gästfrihetsutbyte
  • Ungdomsutbyte
  • Objekt att hyra


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Öppen spis
  • tvättmaskin
  • Diskmaskin
  • Torktumlare
  • TV


  • Trädgård
  • Park/ lekplats
  • Privat bastu
  • Garage
  • Cyklar: 7


  • Ingen rökning
  • Använd / Utbyte av bil
  • Passning av husdjur

Våra favoriter

  • Öppen för alla förslag
  • Germany
  • France
  • Belgium
  • Austria
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom
  • Munich, Germany
  • Berlin, Germany
  • Salzburg, Austria
  • Vienna, Austria

Språk jag kan kommunicera på.

  • Engelska
  • Franska
  • Tyska
  • Holländska

Vårt grannskap

In Östersund you are both close to the city with shopping, restaurants and cafés and to the nature with lakes, mountains and forests. You will have ten minutes of walk to the city, to the big lake Storsjön and to the forest. What we like the most in this city is the possitbility to have an active life.

By the lake, Storsjön you can have a refreshing bath, go fishing or rent a canoe or kayak for some hours. You could also take a mountain bike and go biking in the woods or go to a café in town.


  • journalist
  • civil servant


  • Pojke - Ålder: 19
  • Pojke - Ålder: 17
  • Flicka - Ålder: 21


  • Dog (she will stay with our families during the exchange)

Familje presentation, fri text

We are a family of five. Helena is a free lance journalist. Hans works as a planning officer in a public agency. Edith, Alve and Henning are all in school.

We like to hike in the mountains as well as bicycling and skiing. We also like music and of course to travel.

We live in Östersund since 2006 and appreciate very much the nature, the small town and all the possibilities to have an active life. You can just take a walk for some minutes to the lake with a fishing rod, take the mountain bike to the wood or have a ten minutes walk down town to enjoy a beer or a dinner in the restaurant.

Before Östersund, we lived in Stockholm, where you can go by plane in 1 hour (or by train/ car in 5-6 hours!). To Trondheim (Norway) it takes 3 hours with car or train.

We have been travelling a lot, mostly in Europe and Asia. We have done four exchanges before, to Boston/USA, to a small town in Norway, Amsterdam in the Netherlands and Berlin in Germany. We really loved Berlin and are open to another exchange with a berliner family or an other city in Germany (Munich?).


Östersund is a small town with about 40 000 habitants. We live very close to the centre of the town but in a very calm neigbourhood. As the town is small you don't have to go far to see the countryside. You reach it by bike within a quarter. From the town you can see the high mountains with snow on top, even in summer. 
Östersund is situated an hour's drive from the "fjälls", the high mountains. In Åre you have the best skiing possibilities in Northern Europe. In summer you can use the same mountains for biking and hiking. We have many rivers and lakes with nice fishing possibilities, canoeing etc very close to town. There are also several lakes for bathing.