Vesilahti, Finland

Vi söker vårt första byte

Medlem sedan


Inte tillgänglig för byten

Denna medlem har inte angett några bytes datum

A house with a sauna in the Finnish lakeland

Our house is located in Finnish Lakeland, the largest lake district in Europe. We live in the countryside, in a municipality of Vesilahti (population about 4000), located about 30 km from the city of Tampere. The area is very peaceful and suitable for people who appreciate the proximity of beautiful nature; forests, lakes, fields...It is just over one kilometer to the nearest beach and a big lake from our house, a vast forest is a few hundred meters away. Vesilahti has all the basic shops and services you would need in everyday life. There are also nice resturants in the area, some of them converted from old estates or villas to beautiful restaurants with many kinds of events in the summer (barbecues, concerts, exhibitions etc.), a relaxing spa, etc. If you feel like shopping, a 15-minute drive by car (or about 25 minutes by bus) takes you to a big shopping center, and in about 30 minutes you reach the city of Tampere (you can also travel to Tampere by bus). Tampere is a beautiful town especially in the summer, situated between two big lakes. There are lots of water sports on offer, for example, as well as an adventure park and an amusement park.

There is a train station in the nearby bigger municipality, Lempäälä (you can get to Lempäälä also by bus from Vesilahti). From Lempäälä, you have good train connections to all directions, for example to Tampere (11 minutes) and Helsinki (about 1h 30 minutes). Tampere is a hub train station from where you can travel to all directions in Finland. If you like, you can use our car during the swap, but we would not need a car in the swap necessarily; especially in the UK or Ireland as I have never driven on the left side of the road and feel hesitant doing that. That's why especially in the UK and Ireland we would need to have good public transport connections near to where we are staying.

Vesilahti is popular for vacationing because of the abundance of lakes and beautiful, pure nature - the best part about Vesilahti is definitely the nature. There are lots of summer cottages here; in fact, the population doubles during the summer time (still, it is not too crowded; the area of Vesilahti covers 353 square kilometres (136 sq mi) of which 52 km2 (20 sq mi) is water). Water in one lake is particularly clean, and it is very popular with the locals (not so easy to find if you don't know about it, but we will give you the directions of how to get there :)). In Finland, we have a notion called "everyman's right" which means, for example, that you can pick berries and mushrooms freely in any forest - it doesn't matter who owns it - and we do have some good areas to find those very close-by :). It is very relaxing to go and pick blueberries, for example, to have a picnic in the forest, and when at home, prepare a blueberry pie :). Also, if you want to fish, you can fish freely with a rod and line.

We live in a three-bedroom one-family house. As very common in Finland, we have a sauna of our own in our house. In the living room, we have a piano that can be used, of course. In the garden, you can barbecue with wood in a wood grill (plenty of logs are supplied). We also have a terrace where you can enjoy warm, sunny days (yes, we do have those in Finland, too!).

Our family consists of me, my two teenage daughters (12 and 14 years old; the system here shows their ages wrong) and our cat Mirri. It would be great if you could take care of our cat during the swap, and we would be very happy to take care of your cat/cats, too - but this is not absolutely necessary, my friend can take the cat to her house during the swap.

Our neighbours are friendly and helpful, and I'm sure they will be happy to help you with anything.

Läs mer


  • 1 Vuxna
  • 2 Barn
  • 0 Antal byten vi genomfört


  • University lecturer

Vårt hem/ objekt

  • Medlemstyp: Hus/ Villa
  • Omgivningar: På landsbygden
  • Sovrum: 3
  • Badrum/ dusch: 1
  • Antal bäddar: 5
  • omgivningar: 101 m2

I vårt hus

  • Husdjur - Inte tillåtet
  • Små barn - Tillåtna

Type av byte

  • Bostadsutbyte
  • Objekt att hyra


  • Free internet access
  • Central värme
  • Öppen spis
  • Leksaker och spel
  • tvättmaskin
  • Diskmaskin
  • Torktumlare
  • TV
  • Piano


  • Trädgård
  • Terrass eller sol däck
  • Park/ lekplats
  • BBQ
  • Privat bastu
  • Garage
  • Cyklar: 2


  • Ingen rökning
  • Använd / Utbyte av bil

Våra favoriter

  • Öppen för alla förslag
  • Ireland
  • England, UK
  • Scotland, UK
  • Wales, UK
  • Italy
  • Spain
  • France
  • Germany
  • Austria
  • Norway
  • Iceland
  • Denmark
  • Sweden
  • Portugal
  • Croatia
  • Greece

Språk jag kan kommunicera på.

  • Engelska
  • Franska
  • Tyska
  • Holländska
  • Finnish
  • Svenska


  • University lecturer


  • Flicka - Ålder: 15
  • Flicka - Ålder: 17


  • Cat